Part 2 – SRM 6.1 Home Lab Setup

Hey there! In this post i want to put something about lab setup that i use for my SRM Hands-On. I am only going to show you how things are connected and how different software can be used to give a full-fledged experience of real world scenario; I would not comment on the server specifics like RAM and CPU configured but is recommended to have at least 32GB of RAM, you can always try to modify settings or power off unwanted virtual machines as per your physical hardware availability. This is just one way of doing it.

 I am using VMware Workstation 12 Pro as my hosted hypervisor and below is my home lab topology for SRM.

2016-09-14-08_45_31-srm-lab-pic-copy-microsoft-powerpoint

To simulate a WAN environment in my lab, i used VyOS virtual appliance as a router and configured it with three network interfaces as you can see above. You can follow my earlier blog here on how to configure VyOS for home lab.

To save resources on my host machine, i am using a single AD and DNS server and also i will be using vCenter Server in Enhanced Linked Mode with and external and shared PSC. Although this is a recommended architecture for PSC, in real world it is highly important to avoid single point failure for PSC. You can review my blog post on Installing vCenter Server in Enhanced Mode here for further understanding on the vCenter Architecture.

I will also use the AD DNS server as my storage server by using the native iSCSI initiator in Windows 2012 R2 and a separate network VMnet7 is used for this. Refer my blog post here on how to configure Windows Server 2008 R2 as an iSCSI target and this is pretty much the same on Windows Server 2012 R2 except that you don’t need to install the iSCSI initiator in 2012.

Setting up the lab takes time but believe me its worth. You can use AutoLab for setting part of the lab easily.

Hope this was informative. Thanks!

Part 1 – Introduction to SRM 6.1

Part 2 – SRM 6.1 Home Lab Setup

Part 3 – Installing SRM 6

Part 4 – Installing HP VSA on VMware Worstation – Step By Step

Part 4 – Installing HP Virtual Store VSA on ESXi – Step By Step

Part 5 – Install HP CMC for VSA – Step by Step

Part 6 – Creating Management Groups, Volumes and Presenting them to ESXi – HP VSA

Part 7 – Scheduling Array Based Replication – HP VSA

Part 8 – Pairing Sites and Installing HP-SRA on SRM 6

Part 9 – Configure and Rescan SRM Array Managers

Part 10 – Understanding Inventory Mappings and Other Terms.

Part 11 – Configure Inventory Mappings

Part 12 – Creating Protection Group

Part 13 – Creating a Recovery Plan

Part 14 – Configuring a Recovery Plan

Part 15 – Test a Recovery Plan

Part 16 – Cleanup after testing a Recovery Plan

Part 17 – Running a Recovery

#homelab, #srm-6-lab, #workstation